50 things Richard Bolam did before he was 50 – #3 Made a film #bolamat50 #bolam365 #50things

Screen shot 2014-03-07 at 20.09.20

This is how I imagine myself.

This is, of course, not only untrue, but also inaccurate. I have never made a “film” because I have never shot on film, other than stills. However, I have made a video but not just one. Lots of videos, actually.

Back in 2001 I was working for Lovebytes and had needed to learn how to use their video gear in order to support artists in their media lab. One day I realised that I could do the same for myself, so I bought a camera and a computer and Ridley’s your Scott.

I think of myself more as a director rather than anything else, but as most of my work has been low or no budget, I normally have to be the whole studio.

This is one of my favourites, shot in high dynamic range (HDR) timelapse during the amazing weather we had over the royal wedding weekend in 2011 . It’s a subtle pleasure. Music by BL Underwood.

I made a “film” and so I am a filmmaker. By definition.

Leave a Reply

